Search Results

26 items found

Blog Posts (12)

  • Fabio, 47

    Prior to living on the street, Fabio had been living in Coconut Grove, working as a DJ. The life was fast paced and introduced him to drugs. He was one of the first brothers to be found by Outreach in 2016. Fast Housing found him a place in a rehabilitation facility in West Palm Beach; however, his sobriety did not last longer than 6 months. Outreach found him again a few months later, and placed him in a home among other brothers. While Fabio found his passion for cooking, he is currently working in construction as the pandemic has forced many chefs out of their positions. Antes de vivir en la calle, Fabio vivió en Coconut Grove, trabajando como DJ. La vida era rápida y ahí fue cuando se le introdujeron las drogas. Fue uno de los primeros hermanos encontrados por Encuentro en 2016. Vivienda le encontró un lugar en un centro de rehabilitación en West Palm Beach; desafortunadamente, su sobriedad no duró más de 6 meses. Encuentro lo encontró nuevamente unos meses después, y lo colocó en una casa entre otros hermanos. Aunque Fabio encontró su pasión en la cocina, actualmente está trabajando en la construcción, ya que la pandemia ha obligado a muchos chefs a abandonar sus puestos.

  • Jose, 67

    Living on the streets for five months, Jose would stay in a hotel on a given night if he could afford it. In 2018, Outreach met José. He was not like the rest of the homeless that we usually find in the streets. He was a Dominican in good shape, well dressed and he had a very interesting conversation. After two months, he decided to accept Fast Housing and moved in with our Hermanos de la Calle community. Today, at 65 years old, he expresses his passions for reading and Asian food as he remains a part of our family. Cinco meses entre hoteles y la calle. En 2018, Encuentro conoció a José. No era como el resto de las personas sin hogar que solemos encontrar en las calles. Era un dominicano en buena forma, bien vestido y con buena conversación. Después de dos meses, decidió aceptar Vivienda y se mudó con nuestra comunidad Hermanos de la Calle. Hoy, a los 65 años, expresa sus pasiones por la lectura, la comida asiática, y es un gran miembro de nuestra familia.

  • Juan Carlos, 62 †

    Six years on the streets while battling with a crippling cancer that left him disfigured. Through it all, his spirit remained intact. Fast Housing found him a safe home in March 2018. Though Peer Brother, our community created awareness of his situation, creating a large web of support. Once his health stabilized, he purchased a truck and began selling fruit at residences. He wished to be baptized and started attending Holy Mass. As of May 2019, Juan Carlos is with our Lord. Juan Carlos pasó seis años en las calles mientras luchaba con un cáncer paralizante que lo dejó desfigurado. A pesar de todo, su espíritu permaneció intacto. le encontró un hogar seguro en marzo de 2018. Por el programa Padrino, nuestra comunidad creó conciencia de su situación, creando una gran red de apoyo. Una vez que su salud se estabilizó, compró un camión y comenzó a vender fruta en las residencias. Deseaba bautizarse y comenzó a asistir a la Santa Misa. A partir de mayo de 2019, Juan Carlos está con nuestro Señor.

View All

Pages (14)

  • Hermanos de la Calle

    If you want to update your payment method, please go to www.donorbox.org and log on with your email used.

  • Hermanos de la Calle

    Our Team Meet the team Board of Directors Narciso Muñoz President ​ ​ Narciso@hermanosdelacalle.org Reynaldo Figueredo Vice President ​ ​ Reynaldo@hermanosdelacalle.org Santiago Bergonzi Treasurer ​ ​ Santiago@hermanosdelacalle.org Malena Legarre Housing Director ​ ​ Malena@hermanosdelacalle.org Luis Eduardo Gutierrez Director ​ ​ Luis@hermanosdelacalle.org Humberto Ramírez Director ​ ​ Humberto@hermanosdelacalle.org Alejandro Rodriguez Director ​ ​ Alejandro@hermanosdelacalle.org Dino Vitti Director ​ ​ Dino@hermanosdelacalle.org Team Members Margarita Battistini LCSW, CRRA Clinical Supervisor and Housing Coordinator Margarita@hermanosdelacalle.org ​ Ana Castellan Workshop Coordinator ​ ​ Ana@hermanosdelacalle.org Emilse Grisales House Manager Misión El Doral Emmy@hermanosdelacalle.org Margui Lauría Family Support Coordinator. LMHC, IMH-E Marguilauria@hermanosdelacalle.org

View All